GOVERNMENT OF TELANGANA ABSTRACT

MINES & Quarries – Regulation of (31) Major Minerals declared through notification by the Central Government as Minor Minerals – Rates of Seigniorage Fee and Dead Rent – Notification - Orders – Issued.

INDUSTRIES AND COMMERCE (MINES-I) DEPARTMENT

G.O.MS.No. 16

Dated: 16/03/2016 <u>Read the following</u>:

- 1) Gazette Notification issued vide GSR No.423(E) dt:10-02-2015 by the Ministry of Mines, Government of India.
- 2) G.O.Ms.No.55, Industries &Commerce (M.I) Department, dated:26-08-2015.
- 3) From the Director of Mines & Geology, Hyderabad Letter No.4249/P/2015, dated:08-12-2015.
- 4) G.O.Ms.No.15 Industries &Commerce (M.I) Department, dated:16.03.2016.

ORDER:

In the reference 1st read above, the Ministry of Mines, Government of India in exercise of the powers conferred by clause (e) of Section 3 of the Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 declared the following (31) Major Minerals as Minor Minerals in addition to the Minor Minerals already vested with the State Government:

1. Agate;	12. Dunite or Pyroxenite;	22. Mica;
2. Ball Clay;	13. Felsite.	23. Ochre;
3. Barytes;	14. Feldspar;	24. Pyrophyllite;
4. Calcareous Sand;	15. Fireclay;	25. Quartz;
5. Calcite;	16. Fuchsite Quartzite;	26. Quartzite;
6. Chalk;	17. Gypsum;	27. Sand (Others);
7. China Clay;	18. Jasper;	28. Shale;
8. Clay (Others);	19. Kaolin;	29. Silica Sand;
9. Corundum;	20. Laterite;	30. Slate; and
10. Diaspore;	21. Limekankar;	31. Steatite or Talc
11. Dolomite;		or Soapstone.

2. In the reference 2nd read above, the Andhra Pradesh Minor Mineral Concession Rules, 1966 were adopted by the Government by an order called "Andhra Pradesh Minor Mineral Concession Rules, 1966 (Telangana Adoption) Order, 2015" by notifying in an extraordinary issue of Telangana Gazette No.35, dated:26.08.2015, in view of Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014.

3. In the reference 3rd read above, the Director of Mines and Geology, Hyderabad has proposed the revision of Seigniorage Fee and Dead Rent consequent on declaring the (31) Major Minerals as Minor Minerals to regulate in the State.

4. In the reference 4th read above, the Government have issued orders for regulating the said (31) Minerals on par with Granite useful for cutting & polishing and Marble as per Rule 12(5) of the existing Telangana Minor Mineral Concession Rules, 1966, on case to case basis, until the "Telangana State Mineral Policy" and "Telangana Minor Mineral Concession, Conservation and Development Rules-2016" are announced.

5. The Government, after careful examination of the matter, have decided to order the revision of Seigniorage Fee and Dead Rent for the said (31) Minerals to regulate in the state.

6. Accordingly, the following Notification shall be published in the Extraordinary issue of Telangana Gazette dated the 18th March, 2016.

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 15(1) of Mines and Minerals (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 (Central Act 67 of 1957), the Governor of Telangana hereby issue the following amendments to the Telangana State Minor Mineral Concession Rules, 1966.

Amendments

In the said rules, under Rule 10 after Schedule-I & II the following shall be added, namely:-

SI.	Name of the Minor	Unit	Rate of
No.	Mineral	•	Seigniorage Fee
_			(in Rupees)
1.	Agate	MT	120/-
2.	Ball Clay	MT	60/-
3.	Barytes	MT	600/-
4.	Calcareous Sand	MT	75/-
5.	Calcite	MT	70/-
6.	Chalk	MT	80/-
7.	China Clay	MT	60/-
8.	Clay (others)	MT	40/-
9.	Corundum	MT	60/-
10.	Diaspore	MT	270/-
11.	Dolomite	MT	100/-
12.	Dunite or Pyroxenite	MT	40/-
13.	Felsite	MT	110/-
14.	Feldspar	MT	75/-
15.	Fireclay	MT	50/-
	(including plastic, pipe,		
	lithomargic and natural		
	pozzolanic clay)		
16.	Fuchsite Quartzite	MT	70/-
17.	Gypsum	MT	70/-
18.	Jasper	MT	120/-
19.	Kaolin	MT	60/-
20.	Laterite	MT	100/-
21.	Limekankar	MT	95/-
22.	Mica	MT	2000/-
23.	Ochre	MT	35/-
24.	Pyrophyllite	MT	180/-
25.	Quartz	MT	60/-
26.	Quartzite	MT	60/-
27.	Sand (others)	MT	60/-
28.	Shale	MT	130/-
29.	Silica Sand	MT	60/-
30.	Slate	MT	130/-
31.	Steatite or Talc or	MT	300/-
	Soapstone		

SCHEDULE-III RATES OF SEIGNIORAGE FEE

[Contd..P.3]

:: 2 ::

:: 3 ::

Schedule-IV Rates of Dead Rent

Name of the Mineral	Rate of Dead Rent per Hectare per Annum	
Agate; Ball Clay; Barytes; Calcareous Sand;	Rs.20,000/-	
Calcite; Chalk; China Clay; Clay (Others);	(Twenty thousand only)	
Corundum; Diaspore; Dolomite; Dunite or		
Pyroxenite; Felsite; Feldspar; Fireclay;	This will be enhanced by 50%	
Fuchsite Quartzite; Gypsum; Jasper;	after 3 years and another	
Kaolin; Laterite; Limekankar; Mica; Ochre;	50% after 5 years or based	
Pyrophyllite; Quartz; Quartzite; Sand	the situation at that point of	
(Others); Shale; Silica Sand; Slate; and	time as decided by	
Steatite or Talc or Soapstone.	Government.	

7. The Director of Mines and Geology, Hyderabad shall take necessary further action in the matter, accordingly.

(BY ORDER AND IN THE NAME OF THE GOVERNOR OF TELANGANA)

ARVIND KUMAR PRINCIPAL SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT & CIP

То

The Commissioner of Printing, Stationary & Stores Purchase (Ptg. Wing), Hyderabad. (He is requested to publish the above Notification in the Extra-Ordinary issue of Telangana Gazette, and arrange to send 500 copies of the same to Government in Industries & Commerce (M.I) Dept.,).

The Director of Translation, Telangana, Hyderabad.

(He is requested to furnish the Telugu version of the Notification direct to the Commissioner, Printing, Stationary & Stores Purchase (Ptg. Wing), Hyderabad)

The Director of Mines and Geology, Telangana State, Hyderabad.

The Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Telangana State Mineral

Development Corporation Ltd., Hyderabad.

All the District Collectors/Joint Collectors in the State of Telangana.

The Irrigation & CAD Department.

The Transport, Roads & Buildings Department

The Panchayat Raj & Rural Development Department

The Revenue Department.

The Director General of Police, Hyderabad

The Commissioner of Rural Development, Hyderabad.

The Commissioner of Transport, Hyderabad.

The Commissioner of Panchayat Raj, Hyderabad

All the Departments of Telangana Secretariat.

The Director, Ground Water Department.

The Member-Secretary, Telangana State Pollution Control Board, Hyderabad.

The Engineer-in-Chief, Irrigation Department.

<u>Copy to :</u>

P.S. to Principle Secretary to the Hon'ble Chief Minister.

P.S to Hon'ble Minister for Mines and Geology.

P.S. to Hon'ble Minister for Panchayat Raj & Information Technology.

P.S. to Hon'ble Minister for Irrigation.

P.S. to Chief Secretary to Government.

P.S. to Secretary to Government & CIP, Ind. & Com Dept.

P.S. to Secretary to Government, Ind & Com Dept.,

The Joint Directors/Deputy Directors/Assistant Directors of Mines and Geology Dept., through the Director of Mines & Geology, Hyderabad.

The Law (A) Department.

The General Administration (Cabinet) Department.

The Industries and Commerce (Mines.II) Department.

Sf/Sc.(C.No.8613/M.I(1)/2015)

//FORWARDED : : BY ORDER//

SECTION OFFICER